Change

Hey there world. I have to tell you I’ve been a little sad because I’m homesick! Ironically I’m living back home with my parents. I know that doesn’t sound too cool. [Not that I don’t love my parents; but parents are always parents.] But I’m trying to save a little money because although grad school is great so far, it is expensive. Today for instance, after I thought I was almost done purchasing my books, I had to buy a course reader for $85. The expenses are not bugging me so much. What is bothering me is that I really miss being closer to my friends, the beach, to the hills, to the easy party nights, and even barely being able to walk back up the hill after the party in high heels! Wow, I took undergrad for granted, and didn’t realize that college is one of those special once in a lifetime experience. So if you are going to undergrad college soon embrace it to the max.

With this said, I’m going to take a different approach to my new life. Instead of shutting myself in my nostalgia box, I’m going to start embracing change. I’m going to think about the things that I like about my new life and all the new opportunities I have. Life is a journey, and I’m at the beginning of a new race. So, change, bring it on!

To make the process smoother and fun, I’m going to take some pictures of my activities. Make sure you check back to see them!

p.s. Do you have any advice for me?

About caligirlnextdoor

A proud UCLA Alumni, and a friendly, down to earth girl.
This entry was posted in Day to Day. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Change

  1. Michael says:

    Hi Michelle. It sounds like embracing change is a good idea at this point in time. You have already taken a big step towards this by being proactive instead of reactive in your approach to grad school. School fees are ridiculous these days and it’s tough to keep any money in your pocket when it seems like there are always surprise fees popping up. Our country is going through one of the toughest times it has ever experienced, and although we have a good leader, it seems former President Bush has left it in such a mess that even Obama can’t straighten it out at this point. Actually, most people know this, and he knew it too. I’m struggling myself, but I’m doing what you have to do–embrace change. I believe if we can hang in there, and continue to stay positive and do our best to stay on top of things, we will end up being in a good position to catch a break if and when the time comes.

  2. David says:

    It’s not such a bad thing to hold onto nostalgia. To me, it helps me keep things in perspective. It shows me how good things used to be, and inspires me to recreate such good times. Perhaps not with the same people, but with others. Having said that, this is not an invitation to completely forget about me. The best advice I have for you is to make the most of every day that you have on the big, blue marble I call Earth. Your four-chamber lounge (heart) will be happy you did. Knott’s Scary Farm is still waiting.

Leave a Reply

